Why most occultists are dirt poor?

For difficult to define queries.

Draco20
Forum Member
Forum Member

Why most occultists are dirt poor?

Post by Draco20 »

It just seems to be a fact that most occultist, famous or not, lean towards meager income or downright poverty. Why?

Can they not conjure up money? Become rich?

AbraxianChaos
Forum Member
Forum Member

Re: Why most occultists are dirt poor?

Post by AbraxianChaos »

Only the most shallow of magicians would spend all of their time "conjuring" to be rich. Most of us are here for reasons other than quick wealth, and I can say personally that I have no desire to be monetarily rich. Money is energy, but it is not the energy I am particularly interested in having. If I need something I can typically get it. It has been that way before I studied Magick. I've always had a way to work my will.
"The hero is he who smashes idols... and the idol of every man is his ego." - Ibn Arabi

chowderpope
Forum Member
Forum Member

Post by chowderpope »

I do magic for money, but for the money that I need.

I've been watching Survivor, the old reality TV show, a lot lately. The first winner of that show won a million dollars, didn't pay his taxes properly and went to prison for several years. Then later, another winner fell into life-threatening alcoholism after winning.

One of my childhood friends inherited a fortune and he lives a lonely, sad life. He told me he's considered suicide.

Wealth isn't everything. I live my life on a path of purpose that's not focused on hedonistic values.
Awake from sleep! Remember you're the son of a Great King, see to whom you're enslaved!

Desecrated
Benefactor
Benefactor

Post by Desecrated »

Draco20 wrote:It just seems to be a fact that most occultist, famous or not, lean towards meager income or downright poverty. Why?

Because most of them are frauds.

chowderpope
Forum Member
Forum Member

Post by chowderpope »