Undergrad Anthropology student here

Announce your presence, if you will.

Communio Naturae
Forum Member
Forum Member

Undergrad Anthropology student here

Post by Communio Naturae »

Hi all,

I'm an anthropology student about to start writing a thesis titled: Exploring occult ritual magical practices. I've stalked this forum for over 5 years or so and have been practicing very basic magic for around the same time (sigils, candle magic, invoking/banishing rituals), nothing too heavy. I'm a member of a golden dawn temple (neophyte) and have a theoretical/academic interest in magic and ritual which I hope ya'll can help me with. In my thesis I'm hoping to break away from issues of irrationality/rationality, truth/falstisty and instead focus on the expressive side of ritual and magical practices. I will not over intellectualize or over rationalize experiences. I just want to describe. My first question I would like to explore is: What led you( who ever would like to answer ) to the belief/practice of magic and ritual? I would like to focus on conversion narratives initially. So, I hope you guys can share your stories with me and give me a greater insight into magical practices and what led you to them. As a way of giving back to the this community I can share with you the various sources I have come across so far dealing with magic and ritual practices.

Sabina Magliocco-Witching culture
Susan Greenwood-Anthropology of magic
Jenny Butler-Ritual practice as visual culture and creative expression of identity(chapter in Communicating Cultures)

Will add more books/articles when I've explored more.

Thank you!

Hound
Forum Member
Forum Member

Re: Undergrad Anthropology student here

Post by Hound »

Welcome.

I find your approach most interesting. Consider me intrigued.

In your quest for knowledge would you prefer people to submit their answers here or through various other means, such as PMs?

chowderpope
Forum Member
Forum Member

Post by chowderpope »