Pax et LVX

Occult Forum Archive
Forum Member
Forum Member

Pax et LVX

Post by Occult Forum Archive »

Original post: vstraitt

Hello, I apologize if this may seem like a dumb question. I am quite new in the ceremonial magic studies. I was searching everywhere for a text of explanation, but nothing results beyond the simple "LVX," so I am just wondering what does "Pax et LVX" mean as I have seen that it is quite a "trend" among ceremonial mages who signs off with this phrase. Thanks in advance.

Occult Forum Archive
Forum Member
Forum Member

Pax et LVX

Original post: Frater Chanokh

I THINK it means "Peace and Light". I forget myself, to be honest.

In L.V.X. (eh? eh?),

Frater Chanokh

Occult Forum Archive
Forum Member
Forum Member

Pax et LVX

Original post: JRJ26

i do believe it means peace and light. doesn't lvx mean light? is there a "u" in Latin? I can't remember, but i vaguely think that the v=u, so lux=lvx=light. Not sure though.

Occult Forum Archive
Forum Member
Forum Member

Pax et LVX

Original post: Nalyd23

Yes, Peace and Light is correct.:D

Occult Forum Archive
Forum Member
Forum Member

Pax et LVX

Original post: vstraitt

Thanks so much! Do you think Latin is an essential language to learn for further studies in ceremonial magic? I am interested in western traditions, specifically the Golden Dawn, and also A:.A:., OTO, etc.

Occult Forum Archive
Forum Member
Forum Member

Pax et LVX

Original post: Fr.NovumOrganum

-But LVX itself has far far deeper meaning than just a signature trend amongs gd'ers.

The light of the cross
Light in extension
IAO

Occult Forum Archive
Forum Member
Forum Member

Pax et LVX

Original post: philalethes