my issues: how being only part ojibwe...

Jack-o-diamonds
Forum Member
Forum Member

my issues: how being only part ojibwe...

Post by Jack-o-diamonds »

makes me feel real dumb when studying and practicing and even encountering beings from that faith.

i've had some pretty intense experiences with it...
I've gone through the challenges to find my guardian spirit,
i've seen the miigis and they told me incredible things,
i've had the dream required to become a Mide Priest,
i've seen Mishipeshu come to me in dreams where he tried to kill me, but in return i gave offerings and worshipped him...

i mean shit, you'd think i was an active part of the Anishinaabe tribe.
but i'm not. i'm a white girl with only 1/8th the blood and grew up in white suburbia.

how do you guys deal w/ that? how do you study and practice Native American faiths without feeling like a poser?
"oh, thou clear spirit, of thy fire thou madest me, and like a true child of fire, i breathe it back to thee."

Rin
Forum Member
Forum Member

Re: my issues: how being only part ojibwe...

Post by Rin »

While people tend towards feeling an affinity with traditions to which they have a genetic connections, it's hardly set in stone. Spirituality is about what's on the inside, genes don't matter if you approach the subject matter with the appropriate maturity and respect.
"The path of the Sage is called
'The Path of Illumination'
he who gives himself to this path
is like a block of wood
that gives itself to the chisel-
cut by cut it is honed to perfection"

- DDJ, Verse 27

"It's still magic even if you know how it's done." - Terry Pratchett

entropic

Post by entropic »

Apparently 1/8 is seen as more than enough for the average american åsatruers to call themselves norwegian/swedish/whatever, so I don't see why it should be worse for others [rolleyes]